Let me begin by saying there aren’t a lot of people I can promise unconditional love to. However, Baleigh Isaacs is one of those people, not only for the fact that she’s the definition of “true friend” but for the fact that about a week ago she went out of her way to aquire and then send me Josh Charles’ autograph.

Josh Charles. Dead Poet’s Society. Sports Night. Threesome. SWAT. Look it up on IMDB. The guy is awesome.

So Baleigh sent me his autograph, which I nerdishly carry in my wallet now for good luck. Today (Friday) I was puttering around the store when I saw a guy struggling to re-fold a bath mat (to his credit, those fuckers can’t fold for shit). His friend says “Dude, give up, she’s going to re-fold it anyways” But he perserveres and folds the mat nicely and puts it away. Then he looks up. And I die. Because it is Josh Charles looking back at me. And he is every bit as handsome and tall and scruffy and delightful as I pictured him in my mind. And he smiles. In my mind I say something like:

“Oh wow. Josh Charles!! I really like your work! My dear friend Baleigh knows you from Chicago and she got me your autograph! This is such a funny coincidence! What are you doing later? Would you care to join me for a drink?”

Yet my mouth actually says:

“You folded that mat damn near perfectly. Nice.”

Josh Charles smiled and bid me farewell before exiting the store. I watched him leave, willing him to return so I could take a second crack at actually speaking. But he was here. And he was just lovely.

