I’ve been sent out the mass invite for the office Cinco de Mayo party tomorrow afternoon. I was pleased to read the first paragraph:

“Cinco de Mayo marks the victory of the Mexican army over the French at the Battle of Puebla on May 5. The Battle of Puebla represents unity and patriotism.”

“Wow” I thought. “That’s so neat. Did I know that? I SHOULD know that. Well, I know it now.” Then I scrolled down the email, eager to learn a bit more Mexican history, and what Cinco de Mayo is all about! More than just an excuse to drown in Margaritas!

“Please join us for some chips, salsa, guacamole and bean dip in the lounge….” it trailed off. My heart sank. “What?” (Not to say the idea of chips and salsa isn’t DELICIOUS, I just wanted…more) “What about the history? How will we observe the history?”

So I’m a little bummed. I thought this was going to be a great exchange of historical and cultural knowledge, but instead I’m just getting a plastic bag of chips and salsa from a jar. Oooh, maybe they’re those chips with a hint of lime! I like those.

