I just finished up a really lovely lunch sitting on the fountain outside of Lincoln Center. It’s about 75 degrees outside, and very sunny, pretty much the perfect weather for a little solo picnic.

Now, for those of you who don’t live in New York, once the weather gets nice, student orchestras and chorales perform around the fountain daily around lunchtime. It’s a free concert, an amazing gift to anyone who happens to be in the neighborhood.

Today there was a student orchestra (I’d guess middle school age) from Canada. I sat on the fountain and before I could even begin eating, the first chords of “The Phantom of the Opera” began to resonate!! I began bouncing up and down with joy! I love “Phantom of the Opera!!” It’s one of those tunes that really brings out the musical theatre dweeb in me!

DUMMMM! Dum dum dum dum duuuummmm…duuuum!!!

It was great! Then they played “Music of the Night” (also a “Phantom” ditty) before moving on to another piece. This one was much quicker, and spunkier. It was so familiar, but I couldn’t put my finger on it. Finally I edged closer to get a peek at the sheet music over the short percussionist’s shoulder. “Pirates of the Caribbean!!” OF COURSE!! They were playing that great swashbuckling tune from “Pirates of the Caribbean!”

I’m such a dork.

