Earlier today, my best friend said “What, you don’t like Heath Ledger?”

I made it clear that while I am seriously pumped for The Dark Knight I’m not really a huge fan of his work as a whole. Brokeback Mountain was very touching and will be remembered as his finest performance. I’m not one of those people who went crazy for 10Things I Hate About You and The Brothers Grimm is officially the worst movie ever made (but several people – Terry Gilliam, I’m looking at you – should really be held responsible for that one.)

And now he has died. Of a sleeping pill overdose, apparently. And I’m really really, utterly, inexplicably sad. It’s one of those things that you can’t explain, because clearly I didn’t know the man, but any time that someone dies too young AND leaves behind children, it’s just awful. And with actors, it’s worse because we have this false sense of “knowing” them through their work onscreen. But at least, it seems the general feeling is one of shock and sadness at his passing. And I know it’s a horrible thing to say, but why are talented people dying from accidental sleeping pill overdoses while Amy Winehouse is BEING FILMED hitting the crackpipe and has managed to skirt death?!?!

Anyway, I digress. Bye-Bye Heath Ledger. Rest in peace. See you this summer. Still super excited.

