It’s not often that I Love/Hate something. I’m pretty good at deciding whether or not to bestow my affection, or dump a big bucket of haterade on it.

But last night I rented (via ITunes! Suck on that Blockbuster!) Julie Taymor’s Across the Universe, a story of love set in the midst of Vietnam era America. I’m totally confused. Parts of it were absolutely genius (two musical sequences to be precise) and other parts were just laughably stupid and bad, and make you wonder how someone in the editing room didn’t go “Hang on, this sucks!”

A nice bit of eye candy was this dude, Jim Sturgess. He is totes cute and British. And he sings! (swoon)

But I’ve come to the conclusion that this love/hate is just what I feel about Julie Taymor’s work in general. She has such a gift for jaw-dropping visuals, but when it comes to keeping a story afloat, she just completely loses it. For example, there were two wasted cameos in the film from Bono and Eddie Izzard (both of whom I love) to musical numbers that were just not thought through at all. At. All. This leaves me more than a little concerned about the forthcoming SPIDERMAN musical (not kidding) which Taymor is directing, with music provided by Bono and the Edge (really, really not kidding.)

So if you’ve seen this film, let me know what you think. The numbers that I really enjoyed were “I’ve Just Seen A Face” and “I Want You (She’s So Heavy).” Discuss.

