Today I was suggesting to a friend that he watch the British show “The IT Crowd” when suddenly I thought – “I should tell everyone to watch it! Because it is awesome. Ooooh. I am hungry. Oh, damn, there’s no food. Damn Damn Damn.” And so my thought pattern went.

I was first exposed to the show by friends with excellent taste, whilst slightly high and full of gourmet pizza. This is the best way to view pretty much anything, but if it’s hilarious, so much the better. “The IT Crowd” is basically about the lives of two huge (read: great) nerds named Roy and Moss, and their computer illiterate/socially mobile boss Jen. It’s fantastic. Written by the same man who did “Father Ted” it’s just simple pleasure. In this world, Nerd is King and that’s the way I like it.

The characters are so well developed, and though the story-lines are never particularly earth-shattering (but then again, neither was “Cheers” and that show ROCKED) the little throw-away one liners are just priceless. Two examples:

Example One:

Moss: Chairman WOW! You just diffused that situation!

(I will now use that expression as often as humanly possible)

Example Two:

Roy: (singing) We don’t need no education….

Moss: Yes, you do. You’ve just used a double negative.

CLASSIC!!

Now, here’s the thing. NBC has remade a version of “The IT Crowd” keeping on board only the guy who played Moss (who’s fantastic) and replaced Roy with some dude and Jen with the lovely Jessica St. Clair. As much as I would like to think it would be awesome (I mean, I adore “The Office”) something just doesn’t feel quite right to me. I’m guessing it doesn’t feel right to NBC either, as it’s shelved the show indefinitely. So if you can get your hands on a DVD copy (or YouTube, whatever is convenient) it’s well worth a look. Even the opening credits are clever.

