I finally saw “The Dark Knight” today! Oh my GOD. What a fantastic film. I’ve been talking about it all night long with my best friend on GChat. I thought Heath Ledger was great (living up to the hype) but the WHOLE CAST deserves big ups, with Christian Bale, Aaron Eckhart and Gary Oldman doing especially fine work. The meteoric rise and epic fall of Harvey Dent made for riveting viewing! It was all so perfectly handled, in my opinion. And I won’t give away any spoilers (even though I kind of love spoilers) but several moments and key plot points left me SLACK JAWED! And it was nice to see little cameos and bit parts from cool people (that guy from “Contact”, Anthony Michael Hall, Nestor Carbonell etc.)

It was so tightly built, so tense, I jumped several times, and most importantly, the story (all two and a half hours of it) was really interesting, and not just in a “big explosion” type way. It was a well-crafted story, staying true to the Batman mythology but having just enough relevance to the world we live in now. Fantastic. I really can’t wait to see it again. Now that I’m not squirming with anticipation in my chair, I can really geek out and look for little clues/signs/fun stuff.

Although Maggie Gyllenhaal (or MG, because her last name is too epic for repetition) was a vast improvement over Katie Holmes, I wish she had more stuff to do. And while I think she’s a great actress, I can’t decide if I think she’s really really beautiful (like an old-time movie star) or just kind of adorable (like she was drawn by Dr. Seuss and lives in Whoville.)

