Oh man. I totally slept through the announcement of Academy Award nominations….but then again, I sleep through most everything nowadays. That’s ok. My homepage (bbc.co.uk) popped them up nice and big when I logged on this morning.

With each set of nominees, I’ll put in bold who I’d like to see win (NOT who I predict will win) and why.

BEST PICTURE – Ugh, 10 n0minees is way the fuck too many.

Avatar

District 9 – I haven’t seen a lot of the other nominees, but as I’ve said, this was one of the most original films of the year, and yes, there were some cheesy parts, but I was OK with that. And if the world wants to be awesome and have it be a (gasp!) tie then we may also select….

An Education…..which was also a lovely film.

The Hurt Locker

Inglourious Basterds

Precious

A Serious Man

Up

Up in the Air

BEST DIRECTOR

James Cameron (Avatar)

Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker) Apparently this movie is incredible AND woman had never won this prize before, which boggles my mind AND James Cameron is her ex-husband so Ms. Bigelow winning this would kind of be some magical trifecta of “suck it”

Quentin Tarantino (Inglourious Basterds)

Lee Daniels (Precious)

Jason Reitman (Up in the Air)

BEST ACTOR

Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart)

George Clooney (Up in the Air)

Colin Firth (A Single Man) Colin Firth has been relegated to “guy who does romantic comedies” for so long, I think it would be super nice for him to suddenly be recognized for this dramatic role and totally change the arc of his career.

Morgan Freeman (Invictus)

Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker)

BEST ACTRESS

Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side)

Helen Mirren (The Last Station)

Carey Mulligan (An Education) GO CAREY, GO! She’s brilliant.

Gabourey Sidibe (Precious)

Meryl Streep (Julie and Julia)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Matt Damon (Invictus) I’d love everyone to remember that Matt Damon is actually a really talented actor, and not just some pop-culture punchline who does a lot of philanthropic works.

Woody Harrelson (The Messenger)

Christopher Plummer (The Last Station)

Stanley Tucci (The Lovely Bones)

Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Penelope Cruz (Nine)

Vera Farmiga (Up in the Air)

Maggie Gyllenhaal (Crazy Heart)

Anna Kendrick (Up in the Air)

Mo’Nique (Precious) Because I read an article about her refusing to make the kiss-ass rounds that usually accompany this whole process, which I like. And because nobody saw this coming….ever.

