When I wake up in the morning, there’s only one man I absolutely need to see in my apartment.

And that man, is NY1’s very own Pat Kiernan.

His Wikipedia page begins as follows: Patrick (“Pat”) Kiernan (born November 20, 1968) is a New York City news anchor, appearing as the morning anchor of NY1 since 1997. Kiernan has become widely known in New York City for his “In the Papers” feature, in which he summarizes the colorful content in New York City‘s daily newspapers, replete with his deadpan humor. Kiernan is usually on air between 5 AM until 10 AM.

Mr. Kiernan is pretty much the funniest and most awesome news anchor (David Muir still has a lock on hottest) out there. He’s also obviously a direct descendant of the Keebler Elf.

Every morning, he approaches the stories with the perfect balance of interest and amusement. When the topic is serious, he’s all business, but when the story is obviously insane (my favorite is when he reads the newspapers and makes hilarious, off-the-cuff comments about the headlines) he manages to illuminate situations without ever being mean or condescending. I mean, I often laugh out loud during the morning news! How cool is that? He even has a Facebook page – and I’m not talking about a fan page – but his actual page where you can be his friend! I’m too overwhelmed to friend him. Maybe I’ll get up the nerve at some point.

 

